Optometric Physician of the Year

2023 Optometric Physician of the Year - Selina McGee, OD, FAAO, Diplomate American Board of Optometry


The Oklahoma Association of Optometric Physicians (OAOP) has named Dr. Selina McGee of Edmond the 2023 Optometric Physician of the Year. The award is given to an optometric physician who is a leader in the profession, on the cutting edge of patient care and who serves as an advocate for vision care.

Dr. McGee is founder and owner of BeSpoke Vision, a private practice that offers patients a wide range of optometric care via its dry eye center, specialty contact lens clinic and aesthetics suite. She is a renowned national and international speaker, as well as an Adjunct Assistant Professor at NSUOCO, at which she is an alumna, and a faculty member at the Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation.

She currently serves as President for the Intrepid Eye Society, a Trustee on the SECO Board, and on the Board of Examiners in Oklahoma.  Dr. McGee is a Fellow of the American Academy of Optometry and a Diplomate of the American Board of Optometry.

 She has dozens of publications to her credit that have appeared in Modern Optometry, Optometry Times, Review of Optometry, and Optometric Management

As OAOP president in 2020, Dr. McGee led the association through the beginnings of COVID and helped to launch the first ever Giving Sight Day, the association’s largest charitable event.

“Dr. McGee is an Oklahoma Optometry treasure,” said OAOP Executive Director Joel Robison. “Her leadership has helped to elevate optometry across the state. She also never loses sight of what this profession is all about: helping patients by providing them with the very best possible vision care. We are proud to recognize her with the highest honor bestowed by our association.”

Past Honorees

2022- Zeddie Cantrell

2021- Colby Ricks

2020- Crystal Mosteller

2019- Lynsey Bigheart

2018- Todd Wright

2017- Jeff D. Miller

2016- Jason Rhynes

2015- Joseph Phillips

2014- Kathleen Elliott

2013- Michelle Welch

2012- Denise Roddy

2011- David Free

2010- Michael Bennett

2009- Tami Ross

2008- Len Hart

2007- David Brewer

2006- Van Odom

2005- Rick Swales

2004- Greg Clay

2003- Don Diehl

2002- John Hawkins

2001- Don Hewett

2000- Jari Frazier

1999- Ron Rounds

1998- Travis Yadon

1997- Bobby Christensen

1996- Steve L. Smith

1995- Norman Hinkle

1994- David A. Cockrell

1993- David C. Eldridge

1992- Leslie L. Walls

1991- Bob L. Baldwin

1990- Mack Smith

1989- George Foster

Platinum Partners

Bronze Partners

Signature Partners

Allied Partners

Industry Partners