Young Optometric Physician of the Year

2023 Young Optometric Physician of the Year - Blake Carlisle, OD


The Oklahoma Association of Optometric Physicians (OAOP) has named Dr. Blake Carlisle of Fairview as their 2023 Young Optometric Physician of the Year. This award is given to an Optometric Physician who has practiced for less than ten years and who demonstrates exceptional leadership in both the Optometry profession and in his or her community.

Dr. Carlisle received his Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from Oklahoma State University in 2010, and in 2014 he graduated from Northeastern Oklahoma State College of Optometry. After graduating, he and his wife Bethaney returned home to Fairview, where Dr. Carlisle joined his father's practice. He is now the owner of Be Thou My Vision.

Dr. Carlisle has been an adjunct faculty member at Hastings Hospital, where he supervised student doctors, and he is currently an associate at His Vision Eyecare, a pediatric ophthalmology clinic in Jenks. In the OAOP, Dr. Carlisle has served as a district director and legislative committee member.

“Rarely is an optometric physician able to make such a profound impact as early and enthusiastically as Dr. Carlisle has,” said OAOP Executive Director Joel Robison. “His colleagues and his countless patients are better off because of his work ethic, passion for his job, and dedication to helping people in his community.”

In addition to his professional achievements, Dr. Carlisle enjoys spending time with his wife and two children, adventures in the mountains, barefoot water skiing, and flying. He is a member of the Elm Grove Community Church where he and his wife lead worship.

Past Honorees: 

2022- Kyle Henderson

2021- Colby Ricks

2020- Kyle Tate

2019- Trevor Conklin

2018- Scott Mendell

2017- Tyson Allard

2016- Nathan Lighthizer

2015- Randi Day

2014- Crystal Mosteller

2013- Lynsey Bigheart

2012- Selina McGee

2011- Zeddie Cantrell

2010- David Jones

2009- Stephanie Rice

2008- Jeff Elliott

2007- Jason Rhynes

2006- Kevin Wells

2005- Jason Ellen

2004- Heidi Thoden & Wes DeRosier

2003- Larry Charles

2002- Jo'el Sturm

2001- David Hall

2000- James Ward

1999- Tami Ross

1998- Larry Henry

1997- Dawn Holsted

1996- Douglas T. Cook

1995- Wesley Hall

1994- Jamie Archer Bennett

1993- Jeff D. Miller

1992- Dan G. Bintz

1991- Michael E. Bennett

1990- Kevin M. Swartz

1989- Dean I. Dornic

Platinum Partners

Bronze Partners

Signature Partners

Allied Partners

Industry Partners