Paraoptometric of the Year

Yvon Farmer Named 2019 Paraoptometric of the Year

The Oklahoma Association of Optometric Physicians (OAOP) has named Yvon Farmer of the Mannford Vision Clinic the 2019 Paraoptometric of the Year. The award goes to a paraoptometric who displays outstanding professional leadership and service to patients. Paraoptometrics are health professionals who assist optometric physicians in providing high levels of vision care to patients.Yvon earned her Medical Assistant degree through Central Technical Center and is also a licensed phlebotomist. She graduated with honors as part of the National Technical Honor Society and was also involved with ​American Health Occupations Education Student Organization (​HOSA), an organization for future healthcare professionals. As an alumni, she now volunteers as a judge in competitions assessing the competencies developed by students through class instruction and job training.Her coworkers say her passion for the job and her professionalism are infectious."Yvon exemplifies what it means to be an outstanding paraoptometric in every way," said Tina Roberts, a colleague at Triad Eye Institute. "Not only does she provide exceptional patient care, she also volunteers her time to mentor and promote others. She is an ambassador for education with a true servant's heart."Yvon was born and raised in Stillwater and currently resides in Mannford, where she works at Mannford Vision Clinic. She has been part of the clinic eye care team for six years and is a technician as well as the compliance officer. She also volunteers with Dr. Barbara Murphy at the Tulsa Day Center for the Homeless and volunteers with Special Olympics Lions Club International Opening Eyes program.Yvon is actively involved with the OAOP and said she values all the wonderful people she has met while working as a paraoptometric over the years."I really like helping people in any way I can," said Yvon. "When you see them light up and put a smile on their face, it gives you a good feeling. Whether it is new glasses or explaining their insurance, it is always rewarding."She is married to husband Jeff, mom to Petey, their dog, and loves gardening and flowers. She enjoys traveling with Jeff and doing outdoor activities.

Past Honorees

2018- Germaine Shock

2017- Karen Fourkiller, CPOT

2016- Billie Corkerin, CPOT

2015- Sheila Swank

2014- Stacey Gann

2013- Krestina Timoshenko, CPO

2012- Michelle Stricklin

2011- Julie Brown, CPOA